🇩🇪 In Bearbeitung…

AFL and AFLW Team Captains

🇦🇺 Australian football, AFL, footy or Aussie Rules is the most played sport in Australia. It has one of the most highly established men’s league of all sports, founded in 1896, and has some of the highest spectator numbers across the world. There are 18 Professional Men’s team, of which 12 in 2020 will have professional Women’s teams (growing from 8 in 2019).
The Women’s season is February – April followed by the Men’s from April – September. Both leagues feature a number of rounds of home and away games, followed by finals and ending in the Grand Final, where one team will win the premiership, also known as “taking home the flag”. AFL is HUGE in Australia, played as ‘Auskick’ as soon as kids can walk and it is a community sport that aims to include everyone no matter of age, ability, background etc.
The Australian Football League Germany was officially created in 1999, with just two clubs The Frankfurt Redbacks and Munich Kangaroos playing occasional matches against each other for the first few years until the formation of the Berlin Crocodiles and the Hamburg Dockers made the possibility of a national league a reality. The German home and away season began in 2003 with these four clubs. Jump forward to 2019 and 7 teams now make up the Men’s AFLG league with the Dresden Wolves, Rheinland Lions & Zuffenhausen Giants making up the newest 3 teams.
The AFLG Women’s league was launched in 2019 between 4 teams; Berlin Crocodiles, Hamburg Dockers, Rheinmain Redcats (joint team between Frankfurt & Rheinland) and Southern Tigeroos (joint team between Munich & Zuffenhausen). In 2020 the league will grow to 5 teams with Rheinland Lions and Frankfurt Redcats having their own teams.

Keen to learn how to play? Then click here!